A random act of kindness

Something most amazing happened to me on my way from work today.

I was biking from work and right when I took a right turn from the Panhandle to go on J. F. Kennedy, my seat fell apart and I skidded at super high speed in the middle of the road. I jammed the seat pole up my butt a bit, which was not much fun at all. When I got my bearings together, I gathered all the bits that I could see in the middle of the road making sure not to get run over by the passing cars, and walked over to the sidewalk to see the damage, and figure out if I could fix it with my always-handy L-key set. I assessed the damage and realized that the big bolt that joints the seat to the frame had broken into two pieces, which meant that I was stuck either walking or trying to catch a bus. I was a bit stressed out at that point because I needed to pick up Kaleb from daycare by 6pm the latest. I called Dave to see if he was super busy or if he could drive from work to get Kaleb and then go back to work. In the middle of my calling and trying to figure out how to get to Kaleb, a complete stranger walked up to me and asked if I wanted a ride anywhere. I didn’t even think to ask a random person on the street for help, I guess it partly shows how disconnected we can be from each other today since we have smart phones and Internet, and don’t really need to ask for help as much as in the olden days. I told Amy that I needed to get my son at daycare at Geary & 12th Avenue and that I would owe her big time if she gave me a ride. She said no problem, put my bike in her car and saved me just like that.

I have to be on the lookout now to pay it forward when I see somebody who needs help.

A random act of kindness is a selfless act performed by a person or persons wishing to either assist or cheer up an individual. The phrase may have been coined by Anne Herbert, who claims to have written “Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty” on a place mat at a Sausalito restaurant in 1982 or 1983. Either spontaneous or planned in advance, random acts of kindness are encouraged by various communities.

One Trackback to “A random act of kindness”

Leave a Reply

